In News

As of today, most public health unit regions in the province are allowed to move to Stage 2 of Ontario’s reopening plan, as announced earlier in the week. Stage 2 significantly expands the range of activities permitted to take place, allowing businesses in many sectors to reopen, from restaurants and bars to hair salons and entertainment services.

For more details on the specific services and activities allowed during Stage 2, please see our recent article and the news release from the Office of the Premier.

The regions not yet allowed to proceed to Stage 2 are those near the Greater Toronto Area and close to the United States border: Toronto, York, Durham, Peel, Hamilton, Halton, Lambton, Haldimand-Norfolk, Niagara, and Windsor-Essex. The provincial government will continue to assess the situation in these regions to determine when they will be ready to advance to Stage 2. The government had indicated that it will not impose any travel restrictions between regions in different stages of reopening.

This blog is provided as an information service and summary of workplace legal issues. This information is not intended as legal advice.